Follow Whitehill Online

whitehillonlinefollowontwitter whitehillonlineonfacebook

Kidsgrove Weather

Whitehill Online Poll

Will the recent way NBC has handled the travellers situation impact who you vote for in future council elections?

Yes I will vote for a different party / councillor than our current lot in Kidsgrove - 91.8%
No I will vote for the party / councillor who represent Kidsgrove now. - 8.2%

Kidsgrove Councillors on Newcastle Borough Council Cabinet

Newcastle Borough Council cabinet announcedLabour has formally taken control of Newcastle-under-Lyme Borough Council following its victory at the local elections.

At the Annual Council meeting last night, the group unveiled the seven people who will make up the political leadership of the council as members of the Cabinet, which includes two councillors who represent the Kidsgrove area.

They are:-

  • Cllr. Gareth Snell – Leader of the Council and portfolio holder for Communications, Transformation and Partnerships.
  • Cllr. Eddie Boden – Deputy Leader of the Council and portfolio holder for Planning, Regeneration and Town Centres Development.
  • Cllr. Elsie Bates (Culture and Leisure).
  • Cllr. Anne Beech (Environment and Recycling).
  • Cllr. Tony Kearon (Safer Communities).
  • Cllr. Mike Stubbs (Finance and Budget Management)
  • Cllr. John Williams (Stronger and Active Neighbourhoods).

Cllr. David Becket, a Liberal Democrat councillor who represents Halmer End ward, will be the borough’s Mayor for the year ahead. His wife Dr Anne Becket will be Mayoress.

The Deputy Mayor will be Cllr. Eddie Boden.


Following elections earlier this month, the Labour group now has 33 councillors, the Conservatives have 16 and the Liberal Democrats 11.

Cllr. Snell added: “We will be focusing on our town centres – both Newcastle and Kidsgrove; we will try to make an impact on long-term and youth unemployment; we aim to support vulnerable people living in the community and we will be looking at cleanliness across the borough.”

Among the other chairs and vice-chairs appointed at the Annual Council meeting were:-

  • Audit and Risk – Cllr. Paul Waring (chair) and Cllr. Sophia Baker (vice chair).
  • Licensing – Cllr. Trevor Hambleton (chair) and Cllr. Thomas Lawton (vice chair).
  • Planning – Cllr. Andrew Fear (chair) and Cllr. Sandra Hambleton (vice chair).
  • Public Protection – Cllr. Mark Olszewski (chair) and Cllr. Sophie Olszewski (vice chair).

 Overview and Scrutiny appointments were:-

  • Overview and Scrutiny Co-ordinating – Cllr. Elizabeth Shenton (chair) and Cllr. Hilda Johnson (vice chair)
  • Active and Cohesive Communities – Cllr. George Cairns (chair) and Cllr. June Walklate (vice chair)
  • Cleaner, Greener and Safer Communities – Cllr. Gill Williams (chair) and Cllr. Stephen Sweeney (vice chair)
  • Economic Development and Enterprise – Cllr. Ian Matthews (chair) and Cllr. Matt Taylor (vice chair)
  • Transformation and Resources - Cllr. Elizabeth Shenton (chair) and Cllr. Ann Heames (vice chair)

Cllr. Stephen Sweeney is the Leader of the Conservative group on the council and Cllr. Robin Studd leads the Liberal Democrat group.

Add comment

Security code